Go Back   Sports Car Forum - MotorWorld.net > General Discussion > General Chat

General Chat General chat about anything that doesn't fit in another section here

Old 01-29-2004, 05:12 AM   #1
High3nd
Regular User

Default How to convert AVI to wmv

Hey guys,

I got about 45min of video of my buddies gettin sideways and racing on the freeways late at night. Its in avi format but i wanna convert it to wmv, i'm sure you'll appreciate it when you see it also. A 360 Moden Euro Edition and a Brabus SL600.

Also, i'm new to editting and stuff and i was wondering what program would be the best to do this? I just bought firewire, is there anything else i am gonna need????
Old 01-29-2004, 06:51 AM   #2
Fleischmann
Regular User

Why convert it wmv ?? DivX compression is much better-takes up more space and is worse quality ??
Old 01-29-2004, 09:38 AM   #3
fishfreek
Regular User

Originally Posted by Fleischmann
Why convert it wmv ?? DivX compression is much better-takes up more space and is worse quality ??
What?

I have found WMV format to be fairly equivlent to divx as far as compression size (1hr videos of about 110MB-115MB @ 340bps) And quality is more based on the acutal bps you encode as much as its the codec.

If your running a windows xp system you can get Windows Movie Maker and it will encode wmv format. If your camcorder is digital then you will need a way to download it to your computer and then a way to convert it (windows movie maker). You really dont need much once you get the system on your system.

Free Photo Hosting
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 12:18 PM   #4
ceesf1
Regular User

try tempenc or mainconcept this could all be founf on internet but they are shareware
ceesf1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 04:14 PM   #5
RC45
Regular User

WMV is not universal enough. Kind of a one way street - you can easily get to WMV - but there is no easy way back to some editable format.